Donors respond to Madison Eagle Christmas Fund appeal


MADISON – The all-volunteer Madison Eagle Christmas Fund is celebrating its 40th anniversary year of bringing holiday joy to Madison households that need a helping hand — and donors have answered the fund’s appeal to help fulfill that mission.

The Christmas Fund is a tax-exempt nonprofit that uses all money raised to help Madison families and senior citizens in distressed circumstances enjoy a happy holiday season.

The Madison tradition was born 40 years ago when the late Barbara Valk and her family chose to remember a small number of lonely senior citizens at Christmas time with holiday gifts. In 1974, Louise Easton, then owner of the Madison Eagle, partnered with the Valk family to form the Madison Eagle Christmas Fund.

The Christmas Fund has grown over the years and now involves dozens of volunteers who donate their time to buy, wrap and deliver gifts to Madison households in need. Last holiday season, 97 families and senior citizens were helped by the Christmas Fund, which also spent about $26,000 at Madison businesses.

Over the decades, the Madison Eagle Christmas Fund has been able to fill some very special holiday wishes for thousands of less fortunate Madison residents — through the holiday spirit and the generosity of many businesses, civic groups, Madison school students, and donors.

The Christmas Fund is continuing to welcome donations. To make a tax-deductible contribution using PayPal, go to the Christmas Fund’s website at, and click on the “Donate” button at the top right of the screen.

Recent Donors

Among the most recent donors who have helped the Christmas Fund fulfill its annual mission of sharing the joys of the holiday season with Madison neighbors in need are:

Robert and Eileen Richards; Jean and Anthony Passalaqua; Joe Caruso; Bea Henderson; Valerie and Thomas Haverty; Richard Romano; Robert Balascio; Bill Beversluis and Laura Schneebacher; Pete and Kay Crnkovich;

Andy and Becky Moody; The Breman Family; Guy and Helen Raymaker; Mr. and Mrs. Mark Burgess; Scott and Nancy Guempel; Mr. and Mrs. Tom Haralampoudis; Diane and Joe Zsombik, and Deborah Strong.